~ Brides On A Dime ~

February 21, 2010

~ St. John Inn ~

Filed under: The Nitty Gritty! — by worldwifetraveler @ 9:00 AM
Tags: , ,

Let me preface this section & all vendor reviews with the fact that obviously we are all unique. Some things that are important to one person may not be as important to someone else. I’m merely sharing my experience with vendors I’ve researched and/or met with. I absolutely welcome you to share your experience with the following vendors as well so brides to be can see a variety of opinions and perspectives. If I missed something you would like to see added to this section or want a vendor reviewed please shoot me an email ~ Thanks a bunch!

On Site Ceremony Location: Yes! Features a beautiful church right inside St. Johns…you have to be Roman Catholic to be married here and there is a 6 month marriage prep program to be completed prior to saying “I Do”…although if you are Catholic, I’m sure you were already very well aware of this :0)

Ceremony Fee: I didn’t see one listed although I would inquire about it…

Venue Rental Fee: Included with your price per plate!

Min. Requirements: Special Occasion Package ~ ???; Regal Ballroom Package ~ 100 guests

Hors D’oeuvres: Included in Special Occasion & Regal Ballroom package! Included is good!

Plate Range: Special Occasion Package $75~$91 per person; Regal Ballroom Package $65 per person subject to limitations. January~April, this package is available in all ballrooms on Friday, Saturday or Sunday and May~December it’s limited to 2 ballrooms and the Grande Ballroom is only available for either a Friday or Sunday wedding.

Beverages and Bartenders: Included in both packages! Upgrades, of course, are available.

Cake Cutting Fee: Included in Special Occasion Package; Regal Ballroom Package didn’t indicate one way or another so inquire!

Sweet Treats: Delicious displays or individuals treats from $5~$17 per person

Bonus!: The good news is that this place is huge and feels like it never ends as you walk through it. So, with the possibility of having other weddings the same day as yours, you will be less likely to run into one another. There are several ballrooms to choose from ranging in sizes to accommodate your peeps and the Atrium features an all glass ceiling which is super beautiful with an open feeling. The walls are all brick and have some greenery displayed which makes decorating a breeze. The ballrooms were also attractive with chandeliers and drapery around the windows. Very elegant. Having the reception in the hotel is a double bonus for you and your guests not having to drive elsewhere. Plus, the bride and grooms accomodations are included. Champagne toasts, 2 entree choices and butler passed hors d’eouvres are nice touches included with the pricing as well. The hotel is super classy too. It’s got an old classy feel with a modern twist.

The Kicker: 21% Gratuity. Ouch. The church is amazing too…I’m just not Catholic so I guess I can’t get married there. Maybe in another life. Overall, I really liked St. John Inn but our experience walking through the venue was not so pleasant. We didn’t have an appointment but there were several other couples walking around as well. They said it was OK to mingle through the rooms but they didn’t even offer us a brochure with pricing! I had to ask for it. While a minor detail…it left me feeling like they could care less if I considered them for my wedding. Maybe the girl was having a bad day…I have those too from time to time.

Other Tid Bits: Assorted displays are also available for you to dazzle your guests with ranging from $150~$595 per display which accomodates 35 guests so you’ll have to purchase enough for everyone. Remember to share! Late night goodies also available to the tune of $4~$6 per person.

The Blow:(Please note mock prices are intended to provide a general, very general idea of cost. Obviously, depending on what you and your honey bunny decide to do, the price will vary accordingly on every factor you can think of. And, prices are subject to change with each venue. Prices below are a general idea of what a wedding would cost here based on the wedding Kyle and I are planning. Thanks!) 

*We would have picked the Atrium for our reception so pricing will be based off of the Special Occasion Package but obviously, you can do it for less with the Regal Ballroom Package and since I’m not sure what the minimums are for this particular package…I’ll do it based on my wedding which is for 130 peeps.

 ~ 130 guests ~
$9750 2 Entrée’s @ $75
$600 Vege Display (based on 4 displays)
$650 Dessert
$520 Late Night Snack
Plus Gratuity and Tax and you are looking at $14,630.40

Did you attend a wedding here? Or consider this venue yourself? Write Your Own Review!

Blog at WordPress.com.